Department of Psychology Faculty

Our faculty contributes to the various disciplines in psychology with innovative research that has real world implications, with much of this research focused on how the cultural context impacts individual and community health and well-being.


Charlene Baker

Professor, Department Chair
Office: Sakamaki C401
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-5669
Email: bakercha@hawaii.edu
Dating Violence, Sexual Violence, Prevention

John (Jack) Barile

Associate Professor
Office: Sakamaki C404
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6271
Email: barile@hawaii.edu
Health Disparities, Quality of Life, Poverty

Patricia Couvillon

Associate Professor
Office: PBRC 212
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-4761
Email: patc@hawaii.edu
Learning, Memory, Comparative Cognition

Emily Daubert

Assistant Professor
Office: Sakamaki D401
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3695
Email: edaubert@hawaii.edu
Playful Learning, Math, Underserved Populations

Frank Floyd

Professor, Director of Clinical Training
Office: Sakamaki C204C
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6274
Email: ffloyd@hawaii.edu
Family Relationships, IDD, LGBTQ

Kentaro Hayashi

Associate Professor
Office: Sakamaki D403
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-2846
Email: hayashik@hawaii.edu
Quantitative Psychology

Leon James

Professor
Office: Online
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-2382
Email: leon@hawaii.edu
Driving, Online Instruction, Swedenborg

Justin Kim

Assistant Professor
Office: Sakamaki C411
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3644
Email: kimjust@hawaii.edu
Emotion, Affective & Social Neuroscience, fMRI

Janet Latner

Professor
Office: Sakamaki C407
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6106
Email: jlatner@hawaii.edu
Eating Disorders, Obesity, Weight Bias

Akihiko Masuda

Associate Professor
Office: Sakamaki D409
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-0287
Email: amasuda4@hawaii.edu
Health Disparity, ACT, Zen, Diversity

Ashley Maynard

Professor
Office: Sakamaki C402
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7343
Email: amaynard@hawaii.edu
Culture & Human Development, Ecocultural Theory

Charles Mueller

Professor, C-CCBT Co-Director
Office: Krauss 101E
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6727
Email: cmueller@hawaii.edu
Children's Mental Health, Systems of Care

Brad Nakamura

Professor, C-CCBT Co-Director
Office: Krauss 101F
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6359
Email: bradn@hawaii.edu
Evidence-Based Practice, Service Systems

Kristin Pauker

Associate Professor
Office: Sakamaki D410
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-9366
Email: kpauker@hawaii.edu
Intergroup Relations, Lay Theories, Social Dev.

Joni Sasaki

Assistant Professor
Office: Sakamaki C405
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6673
Email: yjoni@hawaii.edu
Culture, Religion, Diversity, Social Cognition

Scott Sinnett

Professor, Undergraduate Chair
Office: Sakamaki D408
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6272
Email: ssinnett@hawaii.edu
Cognitive Psychology

Grayden Solman

Assistant Professor
Office: Sakamaki D405
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8107
Email: grayden@hawaii.edu
Search, Organization, Visual Attention

Lorey Takahashi

Professor, Honorʻs Program
Office: Biomed T701B
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3898
Email: lkt@hawaii.edu
Stress, Emotional Learning and Memory, Anxiety

Jonas Vibell

Assistant Professor
Office: Sakamaki C204D
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-2522
Email: vibell@hawaii.edu
Multisensory Perception, Attention, EEG, ERPs

Kelly Vitousek

Associate Professor, ED-CCBT Director
Office: Krauss 15
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6269
Email: vitousek@hawaii.edu
Eating Disorders, Cognitive Behavior Therapy

Yiyuan Xu

Professor, Graduate Chair
Office: Sakamaki C408
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6268
Email: yiyuan@hawaii.edu
Social and Emotional Development