Department of Psychology Faculty

Our faculty contributes to the various disciplines in psychology with innovative research that has real world implications, with much of this research focused on how the cultural context impacts individual and community health and well-being.


Charlene Baker

Professor, Department Chair
Office: Sakamaki C401
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-5669
Email: bakercha@hawaii.edu
Dating Violence, Sexual Violence, Prevention

John (Jack) Barile

Professor
Office: Sakamaki C404
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6271
Email: barile@hawaii.edu
Health Disparities, Quality of Life, Poverty

Patricia Couvillon

Associate Professor
Office: PBRC 212
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-4761
Email: patc@hawaii.edu
Learning, Memory, Comparative Cognition

Patrick Goh

Assistant Professor
Office: Sakamaki D405
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6708
Email: pgoh@hawaii.edu
ADHD, Comorbidity, Evidence-Based Assessment

Kentaro Hayashi

Associate Professor
Office: Sakamaki D403
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-2846
Email: hayashik@hawaii.edu
Quantitative Psychology

I sak Kim

Instructor
Duties being on 8/1/2024
Cognition, Perception, Virtual Reality

Janet Latner

Professor
Office: Sakamaki C407
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6106
Email: jlatner@hawaii.edu
Eating Disorders, Obesity, Weight Bias

Akihiko Masuda

Professor
Office: Sakamaki D409
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-0287
Email: amasuda4@hawaii.edu
Health Disparity, ACT, Zen, Diversity

Ashley Maynard

Professor
Office: Sakamaki C402
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-7343
Email: amaynard@hawaii.edu
Culture & Human Development, Ecocultural Theory

Brad Nakamura

Professor, C-CCBT Director
Office: Krauss 101F
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6359
Email: bradn@hawaii.edu
Evidence-Based Practice, Service Systems

Anthony Papa

Associate Professor, Director of Clinical Training
Office: Sakamaki D406
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-8107
Email: papaa@hawaii.edu
Grief, Posttraumatic Stress, Identity

Santiago Papini

Assistant Professor
Office: Sakamaki D411
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3644
Email: spapini@hawaii.edu
Machine Learning, Trauma, Addiction

Kristin Pauker

Professor
Office: Sakamaki D410
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-9366
Email: kpauker@hawaii.edu
Intergroup Relations, Lay Theories, Social Dev.

Joni Sasaki

Associate Professor
Office: Sakamaki C405
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6673
Email: yjoni@hawaii.edu
Culture, Religion, Diversity, Social Cognition

Scott Sinnett

Professor, Undergraduate Chair
Office: Sakamaki D408
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6272
Email: ssinnett@hawaii.edu
Cognitive Psychology

Lorey Takahashi

Professor, Honorʻs Program
Office: Biomed T701B
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-3898
Email: lkt@hawaii.edu
Stress, Emotional Learning and Memory, Anxiety

Jonas Vibell

Assistant Professor
Office: Sakamaki C204D
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-2522
Email: vibell@hawaii.edu
Multisensory Perception, Attention, EEG, ERPs

Yiyuan Xu

Professor, Graduate Chair
Office: Sakamaki C408
Telephone: 1 (808) 956-6268
Email: yiyuan@hawaii.edu
Social and Emotional Development